Unexpected Results


Last weekend I took my six-year-old daughter out with me to photograph a car race. I really didn’t think she’d be that interested but came along for the ride. At first she played in the piles of snow as I took the photos. After a while, we took a short break to get warm and then went out again to take more pictures. I took two cameras with me but only because I had planned to use one for pictures and one for video. As I was getting setup, my daughter asked me if she could take pictures too. I thought, sure, why not? Good idea… I adjusted the settings and gave her the Nikon DSLR camera.

For the next two and a half hours she snapped away and when we got home I downloaded her photos. I could not believe the results!! No cropping and zero direction from me. I only tweaked the pictures for contrast and colour. I love how she really seemed to understand how to follow the action and compose a shot. Six years old!! I’m so glad she asked me to take pictures. Tracy and I were blown away. Her grandfather would be so proud.

And my personal favorite… it’s like she ran onto the track to get the shot!!

Leave a Reply

